Wednesday June 19, 2019
PETERBROUGH will welcome back skipper Hans Andersen for Thursday’s Premiership clash with Swindon at the East of England Arena (7.30pm).

The Dane missed the Crendon Panthers’ recent trips to Ipswich and Belle Vue due to a shoulder blade injury, but has reported no problems after practice earlier this week in his homeland.

But the home side will be without star reserve Bradley Wilson-Dean for the visit of the Robins, as the Kiwi is nursing a broken collarbone from his crash at Belle Vue last week.

In his place Panthers have called up Belle Vue’s Ricky Wells to guest against a visiting outfit who saw off the Aces 55-35 at the Abbey Stadium on Monday.

Panthers grabbed a point from their own trip to Blunsdon in early May but the Swindon line-up has undergone numerous changes since then, especially in the lower-order.

The Robins are led by former World Champion Jason Doyle and track a powerful side including ex-Panthers Troy Batchelor, Ellis Perks and Paul Starke, with the latter in at reserve to guest for Zach Wajtknecht.

Recent signing Rasmus Jensen has been a huge success whilst elsewhere in the middle-order Adam Ellis can be a high scorer at Alwalton, and David Bellego makes his first appearance for his parent club this season as a replacement for the injured Tobiasz Musielak.

Panthers boss Carl Johnson said: “It’s going to be yet another tough meeting, as Swindon are looking much stronger than they did at the beginning of the season.

“I believe it’s going to come down to the reserves. In the top five, anyone can beat anyone else but we need to ensure both Aaron (Summers) and Ricky are at their best, as it’s there that could be the difference between winning and losing.

“It’s hard to lose Bradley, as it was last season, but it’s good to have Hans back especially as guest options are very limited on his average.”

It’s the start of a busy few days at the East of England Arena as the club also stage the prestigious Championship Fours featuring all eleven second-tier clubs on Sunday (2pm).

PETERBOROUGH: Hans Andersen, Josh Bates, Scott Nicholls, Charles Wright, Rohan Tungate, Aaron Summers, Ricky Wells.
SWINDON: Jason Doyle, David Bellego, Rasmus Jensen, Adam Ellis, Troy Batchelor, Ellis Perks, Paul Starke.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter